Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-07-10 - 1:03 a.m.

Scary Real Life

Okay, it's 1 a.m. in the morning and I am FREAKED out!!

I was getting to sleep all nice and snuggly in my bed, when the phone rang.

As any normal person, I assumed it must be a friend or loved one reaching out, so I answered the phone immediately.

Now I could have sworn they whispered my name, but I couldn't quite tell. They were garbling something, but what they said was unintelligible under the whispers.

Starting to get freaked out, more because I thought it might be the dying breath of my mother, I kep on repeating, "What? I can't hear you. What did you say?"

After about the fifth time of me doing this, my husband asks, "Who is it?"

"I don't know" I answer.

"Hang up. Hang up right now." He tells me sternly. Always listening to the good sense of my husband, I hang up.

I look at the caller id and all it says is "BLOCKED CALL"

Which only makes it worse, because in my mind it could either be a prankster or my mother, who has her number blocked.

My husband says, "It was just a prank call. Come to bed."

But I am REALLY freaked out now and say, "No. They said my name." Of course, by now, my mind is fuzzy and I'm not quite sure, but why else would I have tried to figure out what they were saying?

I tried calling the operator, but all I got was some indian representative asking me to give him the phone number I'm trying to reach.

Now normally I don't get upset over foreign customer service reps, but I was about to wring this guys neck. I politely said, "Thank you" through a strained voice and tried the alternate number suggested when I first connected.

However, when calling THAT number, I just got an automated voice telling me that there were no live people to talk to and to try again "during normal business hours." Fuckers!!

I tried the operator again and this time seemed to reach someone closer to EFL (english first language) and tried to talk to them, still thoroughly freaked out.

"Hello. I just got a really weird phone call and it freaked me out. The call was blocked, but can I get the phone number??"

"I'm sorry ma'am, you'll have to call that other number." About to wring this guy's neck to, he broke in with more useful information, "Unfortunately their office are closed fright now, but take down the date and time and call them when their open, and they should be able to help you."

"Thanks you." I replied, but still thinking, "somewhat."

Stupid cox!!

So still being thoroughly freaked out and unable to get to sleep, I grabbed my laptop to blog about it.

Thoughts are running through my mind about every horror flick or bad news cast I've ever seen on this stuff. I'm imagining some freak sitting outside my house getting his jollies just waiting for a moment to pounce while my nerves are on high. I'm thinking about the Ted Bundy date my mother had years back (yeah, remind me to tell you about that one. Attracting freaks must run in the family. Oh well, of course it does, look at all the man in my family, ok, with the exception of mine.)

I'm also thikning how badly I now need a cigarette, but how there is no possible way I'm going outside to be an easy target for a gun scope.

While I'm in the midst of writing my horrifying entry, the phone rings again. Scaring me still, I listen to it's deafening trill.

My husband jumps up, "I'll get it." He walks past me in his underwear and quite rumpled and jogs into the kitchen, out of my line of sight.

I hear him pick up the receiver and say, "Hello?"

Silence.

More silence.

Maybe it was a friend reaching out?

I walk tentatively into the kitchen as he hangs the phone up.

"Prank call. You comin to bed?"

Fuck no, I'm not coming to bed. Although I feel a little bit better now. Apparently the fucker on the other line felt right and dandy scaring an innocent little women, but they weren't going to mess around with her husband.

And when it comes down to it, I bet their not messing around with their 200 lb rommate, 3 fifty pound dogs, and two cats with some pretty sharp claws.

"Come on to bed, honey." my husband pleads. "Tomorrow we'll unlist our number."

I think of this with a heavy heart. What kidn of sick and twisted world do we live in? I had left our number listed because in case any old friends wanted to get ahold of us. It drove me nuts when I wanted to look someone up, but they were 'unlisted.'

We never received a prank call before now. A few hang ups, but never this sick and twisted.

So tomorrow I'm calling Cox and reporting the call, finding out the number, and probably making our number unlisted. Maybe we'll stop receiving telemarketing calls too. Maybe we'll just change our number altogether. It's not like anyone important calls it.

I know it sounds weird but I really hope it wasn't someone we knew. Like a dying relative or something.

But that's me, the optimist, talking. Thinking I was rude to whoever was on the other end of that call and not the other way round.

Well, if you see anything in the news about a chopped up or missing redhead from AZ, you'll know what happened.

Bye cruel world...

Sorry, I couldn't help it. Did I happen to mentionwhen I'm nervous and freaked out I get a really sick sense of humour? (The english spelling of humor was for the benefit of my friend red.)

Bye you wankers!!

1 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries