Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-07-02 - 10:24 a.m.

Vacation - The Trip Up

Well we made it up to Showlow safely. Many an adventure has been had since Thursday night.

First of all, oddly enough, I found out it was my SIL (sister-in-law) that wanted to push up to Showlow Thursday night, not my BIL (brother-in-law).

They got to my house in Phoenix at about 8 p.m. They all hoarded into my small, little 1200 sq ft house...BIL, SIL, three girls, and one dog. That of course to match my already two dogs, two cats, one large person, and four fish. It felt like a zoo.

We let the dogs meet eachother outside, that was crazy!!! Then I start asking the important question, "So are you guys staying tonight and we'll head up tomorrow?"

My BIL says, "Perhaps we should wait. I've been on the road nearly 6 hours already."

My SIL responds, "No! Let's push on through. Get it over with!"

BIL and I look at eachother knowing full well that although she's excited, she's not the one driving. But we give in anyway.

So we load everything up and head out at about 9 p.m.

At this point, I'm not feeling tired, but figure I better grab some caffeine to ensure I stay that way. I go to Starbucks and they hit the gas station across the street.

From the drive-thru I call and ask f they want anything. BIL says he wants a tall coffee...hot. I ask, "Are you sure you don't want iced?" "No," comes the reply, "hot."

So I get the drinks a very large iced espresso for me and a large hot coffee for my BIL. I meet them at the gas station, walk up to their car, and sweat is just dripping down BILs forehead. Tweaking my eyebrow, I hand him his hot coffee. He replies, "Thanks but I wanted iced," with a gleam in his eye.

"I told ya!" He just laughs and then says, "We were driving into to town and the a/c was getting a little cold in the car. So I put down the window a little and feel out, and the air wasn't too bad. So I put the window down all the way and stuck out my hand further, and thought, My god this is hot! Now mind you, this is about 7:30 p.m. and the sun has almost completely set. So we pass by one of those signs that tells you the tempurature and it says '111'. 111 degress outside at 7:30 p.m.!"

I reply, "Welcome back to Phoenix!" and laugh.

So we head out, having to take city streets for about 20 miles first. Finally we hit the 87, make a left, and start really picking up speed. A couple of miles down the road and I see that a cop has pulled someone over. I'm not sure if he's gotten out yet or not, but I see the guy in front of me moves to the next lane to give room. I would have, but first of all I never in a million years would think that someone would open his door into rushing traffic, but also I had someone next to me on the road restricting my ability to move over.

So sure as shit, because this is Phoenix and apparently the stupid drivers rule flows over even into law enforcement, he opens his freakin door right into me then puts his arm in the air to show disgust that I didn't merge into the other car to avoid his stupid move. Asshole!!

I'm still tweaked about that one.

So we continue on, ensuring we're going the speed limit. And I realize why I don't do long raod trips at night. I have astigmatism. This does not help at night. Any light is amplified 10 times or me and looks like the star of David all twinkly and spikey. At least we're not in head on traffic and there's not much traffic to begin with.

I start worrying that maybe I will fall asleep at the wheel or hit some coyote and fly off a cliff. However about an hour into it and I start feeling my groove.

Yes we actually made it here in one peice. With a few slight incidents such as a suicidal racoon, a pushy guy in a truck with trailer, and a hillbilly truck without any lights on. But we're here. Thank God.

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries