Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-06-13 - 4:35 p.m.

Quickie Blog

So I go to pull up my email and the front page of Cox members section shows me:

"All Three Aboard Survive Fla. Plane Crash"

How nice, I thought. For once a new story that doesn't contain bad news. So I'm a little cheery because of that. At least briefly.

- - - - - -

So I got my blood taken today for the purpose of finding out my blood type. I'm sure it's gonna come out 'C' for coffee, but anyways...

I go in there and I'm freaking just slightly because it's a lab, as opposed to my doctor's office. And it's all these fliers all over the place listing the various prices for different blood tests. Like HIV, hepatitis and other alluring diseases.

Okay, first of all, I can't believe how expensive it is to get tested. No wonder people hardly get tested to find out if they have these diseases. If you really wanted to make sure you're good and clean, it's like $300 a pop!! I mean, am I wrong or isn't it most likely that the people least able to afford protection are the most likely to need these tests? What a scam!

In addition to that, I felt really paranoid about being the general population to get stuck. So I started telling myself to stop being such a freakin snob and get on with it.

So I went into the back and it was like two sixteen year olds that had been assigned to stick me. I told them up front that my veins are very difficult to find and they'll probably have to use a butterfly needle and do it on top of my hand, but NO. They always want to "give it a try" anyway.

So poor little paranoid me, I'm trying to talk myself into letting this young girl "try" me out because I think to myself, "Well, you are helping her to get experience and it's not really that big of deal." But the whole time I'm envisioning her going, "Oops. I can't beleive I still haven't found it on the 11th try, but let's give it a go again."

Finally both of them feel me up, and admit they can't find a decent vein to work with. Thank good ness I never took up shooting heroin, because I'd be a complete loss.

They bring in the manager, who's a really nice, but still young, lady. I tell her all my horror stories from past pricks, and she just smiles and says, "Let's give it a try, shall we?"

She finally finds a vein in my arm and allows the other girl a feel to see where she found the vein. The girl responds that she still can't fin it, thereby making me uncomfortable that a vein has really been found.

So she prepares the needle and I look away, being the big wuss that I am and whalla! She actually gets it in with no problems. First on in like 19 years to actually hit a vein successfully in my arm.

So I got her business card in case of any impending drug addictions.

I'll let you know how the transfusion goes when it comes up. If it comes up..

ta ta lovelies

2 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries