Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-06-12 - 11:37 a.m.

Little White Lies

I don�t really have much to talk about today. I seem to have blogger�s block.

I could write about current affairs or mindless television shows but that seems to be counter to what I�m trying to accomplish here. I don�t imagine blogging, at least for my purposes, is to discuss what other people are doing. Or even what other fictional people are doing.

The purpose of why I started a blog was to show people that I too go through the same feelings and experiences they do. I wanted to give other people a view into my own mind and be completely honest about it. No bullshitting anyone here.

So because that is my goal, and my life has been so freakin boring lately, I�m at a lack of things to say.

Well, other than, let�s see�

A couple of close friends of mine are moving out of state in a couple of weeks. I haven�t heard from them in awhile. I even tried calling them, but it switched over to voice mail right away and I left a voice mail, but he�s admitted he never checks his voice mail. Why even have it?

So now the paranoid in me is wondering if something is wrong? Did I do something to piss them off? Oh, well, another friendship down the drain because I did something I�m completely unaware of and might possibly not even be guilty of.

I�m so sick and tired of the hypocrisy of friendship sometimes. Only in that you may not be able to tell the wholehearted truth or else get condemned for it. Actually this is part of the reason why I have very few friends and those I can feel free to speak the truth to.

The little white lie everyone seems to be perfectly accepting of does a lot more damage than you realize. For example, when I ask my husband how I look in something, I expect the truth. Not the blas� and contrite little response of, �Yeah, honey you look good. Let�s get going.�

Now by the truth, I don�t mean the women�s typical expectation of the truth, �Wow! Honey you look fabulous!!� This response is expected every time some poor man gets roped into this question.

In our relationship, if I don�t look great, my husband doesn�t try to blow fake charm up my ass. He simply says, �You look alright. However, I would try a different shirt. It doesn�t do much with those pants.�

Some may be offended by this response. I appreciate it. Why?

#1. I know it�s honest. Therefore, when he does tell me I look great, I know it�s true.

#2. I�m asking so that I will look good when I step out. If he is not honest then I�m really the hypocritical one because I only asked so that he would lie to me and tell me how great I look regardless. And that�s just shameful.

#3. If I don�t look great, I can simply change into something better, thereby ensuring every time I go out with him (or ask him how I look) I can ensure that I look great.

A lot of people have issues with this thinking apparently. I hate little white lies. I admit, though, that I will tell them to volatile people. You know those people. Those women who will go off on you no matter how you try to explain the above. They just want to hear the little white lie. At that point you�re so disgusted with them that even if they had a crap smear and an entire roll of toilet paper falling out their ass, you�d still reply that they look great because you�re sick and tired of their hypocrisy.

So that said, I implore you to avoid the little white lies accepted by society. It does you no good and it does the person you�re lying to no good. Try it out for a little while.

Now before I leave I must warn you, do not confuse honesty with bluntness. If you�re attempting to kick your little white lie habit, ensure you don�t also increase your bluntness factor. As a matter of fact, try to decrease it.

I�ll give you an example:

If my husband asked me if he looks good, and he doesn�t, I don�t respond by saying: �You look like shit.� Or �That shirt looks like shit.�

You simply say, �That shirt�s color clashes with your pants creating a somewhat less than desirable look on your immensely desirable body.�

See? Much better and you didn�t have to lie. Unless your husband has a somewhat less than desirable body TO YOU, then you�re up shit creek without a paddle.

1 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries