Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-05-31 - 9:31 p.m.

Infidelity

So I was talking to a friend today and we came upon the subject of infidelity.

Simpy put, he had and I hadn't.

Not that I haven't had the opportunity. I've had plenty of opportunity in my life. However, to do so would invariably destroy my life as I know it. It would hurt the one person in my life I love the most. And would scar any future relationship I would have with anyone.

Dicussing this with my friend though, I wondered what set us apart?

He asked me if I was ever attracted to a previous male friend of mine. He's the first to have ever asked me that point blank. Thinking for a moment, I went ahead and told the truth, "Yes. We had mutually agreed that there was attraction there, but also agreed we would never cheat on our other halfs. So we got past it and are still very good friends."

Quite frankly, I'm friends with a lot of men, and if I couldn't be friends with people because I was attracted to them...well, I'd have hardly any friends. And absolutely no male friends.

But I really do wonder...I mean, it seems just about everyone I know has committed some act of infidelity. I couldn't fathom doing such a thing. Okay, except maybe with Kevin Spacey or Colin Firth, but I would never act on the temptation. Or at least hope I wouldn't.

So what is it? What makes me and hubby (hopefully hubby) so different from others in that we are tempted but never have acted on that temptation??

Is it genes? Is it our relationship? Our upbringing? Have we just not experienced temptation so great that it would bring us to do such a devastating thing??

One thing is for sure, if hubby ever cheated on me, I would NEVER want to know. Say what you will, but I think it a much less selfish act to keep such a thing to oneself than sharing the burden with the other.

Now if he repeatedly cheated on me, that'd be another story. That's just foolish.

But let me live in oblivion and innocence. I don't want to know about a brief one time affair. I don't need to know.

Anyway, just had me thiking.

1 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries