Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-05-16 - 6:24 p.m.

It's not mind reading, just common sense and intuition

Okay, so I admit it. I have had a bit of writer�s block lately. I think it�s the heat frying my brain. Or perhaps my husband. They both have the same effect.

I�m doing fairly well at work, then BOOM! I get home and get into an immediate funk. Part of what I attribute to today�s funkiness, is that I was expecting dinner to be ready when I got home. Of course, I should have known better.

See last week, I put together a pretty fair listing of chores for me, hubby, and roomy. It was a breakdown of what days and what chores people would be responsible for. Most of the workdays hubby and roomie have the �make dinner� chore because they are home all day and have school at night.

Now don�t get me wrong. I wasn�t expecting duck a�la orange with a nice cream Brule and a side of asparagus. Partly because I don�t like it, but also because we�re talking men here. I would have been happy if I had come home to a PBJ and some chips.

I thought perhaps on my way home I would pick up some salad or some fast food, however reminded myself that either roomy or hubby were on the itinerary for food tonight and it simply wasn�t my responsibility.

Even I made dinner on nights when I was assigned (amazingly enough). Last Thursday I made pork tenderloin with tator tots. Then last night I actually made pancakes and turkey bacon. Not exactly a six-course meal, but better than the alternative (which seemed to be just not eating.)

So I thought maybe they would have a change of heart today. I could envision them saying:

Hubby: �Ya know, Onyx really worked her butt off this weekend to make things nice for us. She has even been staying on top of chores while we�ve been slackin� a little.�

Roomy: �Word�

Hubby: �So maybe we should make her something when she gets home tonight surprise her with like some hot dogs, or hamburgers, or a nice PBJ.�

Roomy: �Cool�

No such luck. I got home and I asked hubby if he had eaten. He stares straight at the television and says, �Yeah, I had some hot dogs.�

So I kinda gave him that look. You know that look. The female one that says, �I�m so pissed off at you, but I won�t admit it because I�ll just come off as a bitch and we�ll end up arguing over just some stupid freakin� hot dogs.�

So he says, �Somethin� amatter?�

Me: �No.�

Him: �Want me to make you some hot dogs?�

Me: Gaack! �Don�t you have to go to school?�

Him: �Yeah.�

Clearly I was suggesting that he say something like, �I�m sorry honey. Would you like me to fix you something? What would you like??�

Men have no imagination.

1 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries