Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-05-14 - 9:46 p.m.

Knowledge

Could you imagine living eternally? Being able to view all historic events and future ones? Being able to read everything? Experience everything??

Why do we exist? And more importantly why do we die??

Yes, I�m in one of those moods again. I�ve been watching quite a bit of Discovery.

Is knowledge really all that important? Aren�t relationships more important? Why do I place such emphasis on knowledge, learning, experience??

I�m not sure I know the answer to any of these and it frustrates me. Or perhaps I do know the answer and it makes me afraid.

Afraid to get closer to people. To open me up to hurt.

How did I obtain this great ability to live in these times, in this place?? Did everyone before us think that? How fortunate they were to live in a time more scientifically advanced than the time before it?

As a woman, I appreciate this more than most. Being a person who lives in America, I appreciate this more than most. Or maybe I don�t. I don�t exactly take advantage of the myriad of healthy foods available to me. The freedom to go wherever or the ability to be heard.

Can I tell you a secret? I didn�t even vote in the last election. I wanted to but then realized too late that I needed to register again because I had married and moved. Then once the election had finished, I wondered at the futility of it all. Would I have been even more frustrated had I voted?? Does it even matter anymore?? The president is just a pawn or rather a figurehead of a much larger group of people in control.

So I was watching a special on Discovery yesterday on the people and town of Herculean. It�s a town below Pompei and is the most amazing discovery. But it�s falling apart. I would like to go there someday before the volcano blows again. There is a library there that is very large. Somewhere in that library, we hope, are scrolls of indescribable knowledge left there by the Romans.

There is so much knowledge that previous generations had documented that is completely lost to us. Imagine what�s out there waiting to be found. Imagine what�s out there hidden from us because of political or religious agenda.

Never in my lifetime will I be able to read all the books on many subjects of history, theology, geology, civilization, mathematics, science, and it makes me sad.

Of course, work isn�t helping out much. But a person has to make a living to be able to afford the time to read such great works.

I wonder what heaven is like. Will I get the chance to learn about all sort of things? Will I even care??

Sometimes the most popular things in life become so trivial. Like television, SNL, coca-cola. Should I be happy that I can experience this stuff or aggravated because it takes me away from the more important things in life??

Of course, Army of Darkness is playing right now so I must bid you goodbye. If you have any answers to these questions, please feel free to share.

And don�t forget�

Shop smart, shop S-Mart!!!

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries