Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-03-21 - 1:32 p.m.

All Sorts of Stuff

Well things have gotten better with mom.

I visited her yesterday at the nursing home. They moved her into a new room.

She has a really nice roommate who apparently she gets along with. An older woman with several successul children in different states.

She told me about her son who works for Microsoft as an engineer.

Bastard!! That's what I wanted to do.

Okay, not really work FOR Microsoft, more like TAKEOVER really. I would like to show Bill Gates what customer service is really about.

I know, dreams, all dreams. But they're fun!

Anyway, I visited mom yesterday and saw her new room. Talked to her new rommate while she fell asleep in the middle of conversations.

She woke up at one point in total agony. But even she handled that well. Much less complainy.

It's amazing what you can learn about yourself while watching your parents.

Sometimes when mom is really ticked off, because she's a control freak (like moi) and things don't go her way, she gets this really snide and snippy attitude.

I watched this little exhibition yesterday of said emotion, and saw myself. Ouch!!

I don't want to be like that!!

Then when a stranger came in the room, she was all concern and sweetness.

Double-ouch!! I do this too.

I can't be like that. Not only would everyone hate me, but I would hate me.

After that, I made a mental note to be more patient and agreeable.

My grandmother has these tendancies too, but in a different way. I'm not exactly sure how to explain it.

Maybe it's just because she's as adorable as a button, but man! that woman has a bite!!

This is how it is in my mother's family though. Many of the women are frustrated and b***** because they married badly (or simply didn't have the strength to try to fix their marriages).

My mother married and divorced twice, as well as my grandmother.

Oddly enough (have I said this before?), I think Hubby and I have had a strong marriage because of those divorces. We didn't want to become another statistic.

So we try to work things through the best we can.

See it's not...hmmmm, how do I describe this? I've stayed with Hubby because of the man I know him to be. He's made some mistakes (and lord knows I have too), however we stay together because we know what it's like when it's good.

No marriage is all fairy-tales. No relationship is either. We've had our ups and way-downs. But that's what defines our relationship. it's what makes us stronger and closer.

If everything was good all the time, we wouldn't learn about eachother...or ourselves.

What makes a man (or woman) is not what they do right, but how they manage to rise above and learn from the wrong.

I know it sounds schmarmy, and you're probably rolling your eyes far into the back of your skull. But it's true...

If I was given the chance to go back in time and change one thing, I'm not sure I would. There's a lot of bad things that have happened, but a lot of good things too that wouldn't have happened if not for the bad.

If my mom never married my dip**** step-father, we wouldn't have my brother. I wouldn't have met Hubby. We would have never married. Most likely.

One can never say never. It's impossible. Scientifically, however it would've been probable that we never would have met.

And regardless of all the crap that boy has put me through, I love him dearly. And I love the person who he's become. And I love the person he will become.

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries