Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-02-20 - 8:56 p.m.

Maricopa

Well this weekend was interesting.

Yesterday, what did we do? Gosh, I can't remember.

But I'm not crazy enough to forget today.

Hubs and I went on a road trip. We drove to Cave Creek and ate breakfast. Cave Creek is wonderful. And most of the folks there are about three times our age, so it's nice and relaxing.

After that we went driving to my old high school in Maricopa. How freaking depressing.

So we drove about an hour out of town, and finally came across po-dunk Maricopa, which is starting to get not-so-po-dunk. Well the outside of it anyway.

We stopped off at the elementary/jr. high/high school. I started getting all wistful and melancholy, until we actually got to the high school.

The thing looked like a wasteland!! Tumbleweeds rolling across the cement-filled lot would have been appropriate but there was hardly any vegetation around.

The school was painted blas� colors, that even I can't remember now.

Everything looked deserted and used. A stump of tree sat between the buildings with trash piled on top. There were a few new buildings, but nothing to update the actual portion of the buildings where students spent most of their time.

These were trailers that had been on campus for at least 15 years (since I went). Outside the trailers were just paths of cement and dirt. No posters outside to indicate any event going on.

The old locker building had been bricked and locked up to be used as a bookstore.

I told hubby it was a wonder that none of the teachers had committed suicide working there.

A few months back I tried to see if some of my old teachers were still there, and now I know why they aren't.

Bleh!!

I can't believe I actually escaped that place!!!

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries