Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-02-09 - 8:00 a.m.

Odd Thoughts

What an odd night. I hate waking up from strange dreams. I won't go into it because quite often I hear people joke about not wanting to hear other people's dreams, but Wow! was it weird.

I had lunch with my former boss yesterday. How weird it is to see her without being her employee anymore. There seems to be an added bit of fragileness to her now that I don't work for her.

I thought it was really nice that we went out to lunch after I left. We did enjoy talking however I can see the worry in her face about her own job and those of the people who work for her.

I hate it when I'm with someone who has problems and I can't do anything to help. It was just a little bit awkward. And I hate awkwardness.

At least I'm fitting in well at my new job. Kudos all around from my boss and another manager. It's a tad bit on the stressful side at times, but hey, I admit that's what I love.

Hubby got his inheritance check yesterday. It's not much, but enough to enjoy. It always feels wrong taking money from dead people, you know what I mean?

Hubby and I used to get into fights with the family about this kind of stuff. His grandmother has quite a bit of money and a nice house and alzheimer's. Granted she wants to remain at home during her last years, but she doesn't want to spend any money.

Hubby and I say, let her spend all she needs for her care now. We're not looking forward to her death, we don't want any of her money. That's why we work so hard. So we can take care of ourselves. We don't want to have to look forward to anyone's death because of money. Patooey! That just leaves a bad taste in my mouth even saying it. Bleh!

Oh well. Odds are hubby and I are going to get exactly just that. All of our parents are getting up in age and most likely hubby and I will be taking care of at least my mom (possibly grandma) and his dad. Which is cool. I can think of no way nicer to pay back your folks than being able to take care of them later in life.

But I don't want to ask that of our kids. Hubby and I already decided when the time comes, we're going to get on a waiting list for a nursing home. Sign us up! It'll be like going back to college. lol Maybe we can find some nursing home in CA with peppy old folks to have fun with! lol

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries