Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-01-26 - 7:17 p.m.

Day One Done

Finally home!!!

I had a project that was driving me nuts at work. Finally got out at 5, not that 5 is any later than usual, and met hubby outside.

Considering we're both students and Phoenix is going through a water crisis, we went to Mimi's Cafe.

This was our first time. It was okay. We received a gift certificate from my mother-in-law. Should have guessed immediately what kind of clientelle they attracted. We were by far the youngest in the room, with the exception of the waiters and waitresses. Not that we're spring chickens.

This was the 2nd time I went out today for food. Bad decision. I just started WW (Weight Watchers) not a week ago, and I'll probably be the first person to have actually gained they're first week.

I have done WW before, many times, and it's worked each time. I just really need to buckle down right now, but those dang resteraunts are just taunting me.

Well that and I'm at a new job, so I'm trying to fit in. This group of people invited me to go and how could I say 'no'?

See I'm in this initial period at a job in which you're trying to find your group. Kind of like high school, only this time I'll take ANY group. Anything not to be in that awkard stage of not knowing what to say and what not to say.

I have to choose my group carefully. Essentially I'm looking for a group that can talk about any subject without getting all pissy. I need friends that don't backstab and don't talk bs about me behind my back. Once more, see how this correlates to high school?

Well, okay, can't say that. In high school, where my self-esteem was even lower than now, I would've jumped at the chance to be accepted by the popular group regardless of the crap they said behind my back.

But I digress...went to lunch at Le Peep's with four other people. This is essentially the group interview. You have to be careful of what you say and how you say it. I always hated these things, especially when I'm not one for small talk.

However, now that I think about it, odds are this won't be my permanent group. I mean, is it just me, or do you never end up in the group in which you had you're first date? It always ends up a stilted relationship at best and you always wonder what could have been?

Okay, that's just crap, but it's true.

So onward I go. Trying to find my way in a new job. Pissed that none of my friends from my old one have contacted me. Not even my bestest of friends, SH. The bastard!! Why do I always have to be the first to call? Okay, PT didn't. Thank you ms. tucker!!! For the first time in my life, okay other than KY (the person not the jelly), someone called me first.

But out of the scads of supposed friends I've had, why do all of them insist they'll keep in touch, but none of them do?

And people wonder why I'm so angry?? Puh!!

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries