Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-04-13 - 9:21 p.m.

Emotion: Fun ...Finally!

Finally a good day!!!

All in all, it wasn't stressful at all. As a matter of fact it was fun.

Tonight there was shindig at Bobbee McGee's.

For those of you who don't know, it's a resteraunt/bar that used to be well known for its waiters and waitresses dressing up. Dressing up as in wonder woman or Jeannie.

Anyway, it's been years. One of the girls at work, that I get along with really well, has talked me into walking for Domestic Violence.

Okay, well...really against it...but you know what I mean.

(Believe me, I could and have make jokes about this all night.)

So one of the fundraisers was getting together at Bobbie McGee's for drinks.

$5 cover goes towards the charity.

Normally I wouldn't have gone because I've been married for ten years and an old stick in the mud lately.

My fun-filled night usually consist of watching Fairly Oddparents and having a Vanilla Diet Coke at QT.

But I gave the girl my word, so I figured what the heck...I'll go for about half an hour and then head home.

So when hubby picked me up from work, he wanted something to eat and ciggies.

I said I'd be right back, I just had to stop off at this little event.

So I went and of course, I was extremely shy.

My problem is that I hate casual talk. None of this, "nice weather we're having" or "have you seen the last Suns game" crap for me.

As many of my friends could tell you, my favorite topics of dicussion are the ones no one wants to talk about. Like sex, politics, or religion. All at once is the best discussion of all.

"So did you hear that the pope has admonished the president for getting head in the oval office?"

Yeah, baby!

However in most social circles, at least upon introduction, it's not considered good company to launch into a discussion on why marijuana should be legal and the president sucks.

So I usually smile a lot and nod like a redheaded bobble doll.

Of course, everyone finds me extremely boring. I hate that!!

I did know a few people but couldn't think of anything they'd find interesting to say. And I couldn't possibly resort to, "So how's work going?"

I'm not doing so bad, it's about two hours later and I'm surprised the man hasn't called.

So one of the girls is bopping up and down to the music, and I'm thinking, "Hey this could work. I just need to bop too and soon we'll all be out on the dance floor getting jiggy with it."

About fifteen minutes later and all us girls are out there.

I'm happy. I love to dance.

I used to get all kinds of comments back in the day about "you sure don't move like a white girl" and "yeah, baby shake that thang!" at all kinds of clubs.

Redtoaster can tell ya. Remember Sven? My smooth dance moves reeled that puppy in. That or the 6" hoochie heels toaster gave me. Hmmmm....

Anyway, I be a good doobie and just stick to the minor moves.

The major moves probably would've gotten me fired and a proposition for some backroom entertainment.

But I was happy.

Eventually I did leave. Some of the girls were saying they loved to dance but were extremely picky about the music.

Now...if you call yourself a lover of music, you don't give a damn about what's playing.

You know who you are.

A dancer, such a moi, is still out on the dance floor after the music has stopped just swinging to the internal beat.

We're the ones dancing in the parking lot, in line, in the bathroom, on the barstool, on the bar...nothing will stop us!!

Next week they're having another shindig. Same people plus the sales department.

I heard those sales types are pretty groovy.

2 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries