Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-03-18 - 8:49 a.m.

Sucky Day topped with Cake

Holy canoli!! What a day yesterday!

It started out innocently. Went to work, did some queries, blah, blah, blah.

So anyway, I had plans to leave work at about 2 p.m. to give me enough time to go see my mom at the hospital and then go to the Cake/Everclear concert with hubby.

At about 1:30 p.m., hubby calls me. His friend, Kay, called him and said her car broke down about 50 miles away. Help.

My hubby, the good doobie that he is, ran right over, got out of the mini-suv, and promptly locked his keys in the vehicle. With the radio running.

So he calls me up and says he needs to call a locksmith. No way am I gonna pay $40+ dollars for a guy to come out and unlock a door when I have keys. So I ask my boss to run me out (which she does bless her heart.)

We finally get out there and find out it's probably something to do with the transmission. We're gonna have to tow the thing, because she doesn't want to shell out for a tow truck (don't blame her, neither would I).

So we get the special hauly rope, hook 'em up, and go. I ask hubby where we're hauling to. He says essentially BFE.

Um, uh-uh, no way. I point out that there's a mechanic I've used before only a couple of blocks away. Thank God she agreed to go there.

So we make it there...almost. I'm parying all the way and saying things like, "Oh sh--!" and "Oh fu--!" the Kid is in her car doing a fairly good job. Perhaps in part because I told him if he hit our new car I'd kill him.

Eventually we get to the mechanis and after everything is said and done, we head home at about 3:30 p.m..

Shoot.

I planned to be by the hospital by now. Oh well. We take Kay home, and head home ourselves. I stuff my face with a couple hot dogs, and a couple cigarettes. Well smoked the ciggies really, they're quite nasty if you try to eat them.

Tell my hubby he WILL go with me to see his mother-in-law and pile into the mini-suv.

Sigh.

Call mom. She puts in an order for a green corn tamale, enchilada style, with sour cream, and an ice tea.

Okay mom, whatever you want.

Get to the hospital at about 5 p.m. (by the way hubby has told me he doesn't want to go to the Cake and Everclear concert by now, in which I'm thoroughly disgusted because I paid about $64 total for all three) Kay rings hubby.

She wants to know if she can buy two tickets from us for the show.

"Sure, but can I come with??"

Yay, I get to go to the concert after all!!!

So we head back home. Print out the tickets. Kay and her pal Lena show up and almost immediately let our marathon dog out the front door.

I almost had a heart attack. We spent the next 20 minutes chasing the dog down with two cars. She almost ran onto the freeway. But a stranger finally got her. Little sh--!!

Then we headed out to the concert. parking was easy, but we had to walk about a quarter of a mile to get to the concert. We could hear Everclear playing inside. And we also saw the big freaking line about a block long to get in. OMG!!!

Lena, New Yorker she is, says we should split up and sidle in front of people to get in. But Kay and I are backwoods wimps and we stay behind.

Lena called s when she got up front and said she had a problem with her digital camera. So once we got up there we stashed her camera in kay's purse and by golly, they didn't even notice!!!

Finally something going right.

And then we got to see Cake. They are fu--in incredible in concert. Even with a sore throat.

I had a lot of fun, but I'm gettin old and my head and feet were killin me. We headed straight hom after th concert at about 11:30 and I was exhausted.

Still am.

I think I'm going to go fall asleep on my keyboard now.

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz..........

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries