Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-03-14 - 8:59 a.m.

I need a vacation!!

Another weekend gone, another exhausted Monday morning. Do you think it's a coincidence that I wear all black on Mondays?? I think I've started a trend.

I noticed this last week, when our roommate asked why I was wearing black and I replied I was mourning the end of the weekend.

Sometimes you need more than just two days. However, my new job doesn't allow me to take any vacation until 6 months have passed. Of course, by then I'll be in a zombie-like state.

But then again, my school ends in 6 weeks. At the end of April, I might be able to relax a little bit better. Right now I'm dealing with work, school, and mom.

Speaking of which, I get a call at about 8 p.m. last night. It was my mother. She wants me to take her to a doctor's appointment on Monday at 3 p.m.

No problem, except that I have work, Rob has school, and I've only been at this job for 2.5 months and I've already been asking to leave early on days to attend to my mother's needs. I know she needs me, but I also know she's known about this appointment since Thursday. I also know that Rob and I are the only ones they call.

As a matter of fact, I picked my grandma up Friday to take her to get a fan. (The one in her living room crashed from the ceiling and she can't drive more than 5 blocks from the house.)

You think I have reason to complain? I have nothing compared to grandma!!

This 75 year old woman is taking care of my mother, who gets quite invalid and temperamental during her bouts of sickness, and her 70+ year old roommate who just broke her collar bone and refuses to go to the bathroom without assistance because of it. (Yes, I know and so does my grandmother, but she still puts up with it.)

Anyway, I digress...

When I picked up my grandma, I got a little cross. She told me we could go either to Home Depot or Lowes and I replied whatever was closer, because in an hour and a half, I had to get back home for a meeting.

So she replies, "Whichever one you want!"

I reply, "Which one is closest??"

She replies, "Oh just go to the one you usually go to."

Me: "But it's a little far and we're right in the middle of rush hour. Which ones closer?"

Wait, let me intercede. Do you see what's happening here? I ask a question, they answer with something that is not actually an answer to my question. They think it is, but it isn't. This is the issue with my family, including my husband. Please don't assume you know what I want, answer my f--king question!!

Her: "Amy, you're not making this any easier"

Me: "Well, you aren't either."

At this point we kind of looked at eachother and grinned because we both knew we were at wits end and we could go over the edge at any minute.

Anyway, I learned everyone is driving her nuts and she just wanted to get out of the hosue. Bless her heart. I really feel for her. I couldn't imagine.

I, on the other hand, divulged how much people in general drive me crazy and I'm sick and tired of everyone relying on me to take care of them, run their errands, do a quick favor, etc. Of course, with the exception of the current little run we were doing.

So we were able to spend a little time together. But today she's still at home, taking care of them, and I'm going to take ma to her appt today. so much for bitching and moaning. Bleh!!!

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries