Life Story Part I

Contact Me

Litter Mates
redtoaster
unclebob
savecraig
pischina
boxer-briefs
luxlust
poopiebitch
aimeelori
coldandgray

Non DiaryLand Buddy List
All Encompassingly
Blue Bert
Trac

Fun & Favorite Links

Angry Alien (Some Fun Bunnies)

2005-03-10 - 7:46 a.m.

IQs and Depression

Okay, it�s official�I�m in a funk.

Not just a funk, but borderline, if not actually depression.

I recognize the pattern. I hate it when I do this to myself. I work my butt off like mad then boom, depression. I get testy and bitchy and I hate it all at the same time. Then I try to chill out, get better, get bored, start working, get bitchy again.

Apparently, I know history yet still doomed to repeat it.

I think what really put me over the edge, although I think I was hanging there precariously last night, is hubby asking if I would make him a smoothie this morning. It�s really not that big of a deal, but I kept thinking, �Why don�t you make your own fu�ing smoothie! I�m sick and tired of doing everything around this fu�ing place!!�

Sigh.

He was sweet about it, but I�ve just reached my limit. Yesterday I worked, visited mom in the hospital, worked some more, picked up hubby, brought him home, helped make him dinner, picked up my brother, visited mom again, felt guilty for leaving mom, dropped off brother, went home, did homework, I think I did dishes in there somewhere, then satisfied my hubby before falling into a heap of utter exhaustion and stress. Before I know it the alarm is going off and it�s hello to a bright, new, cheery day. Bleh!

I really have to kick this. I can�t stand being depressed. It�s so�selfish and defeating. Bleh!!

I think part of it was gaining weight while I quit smoking too, although I really haven�t quit. I�ve just back to about 1 or 2 a day.

On the lighter side of things�I took a couple of IQ tests the other day. I was reading a romance novel and one of the characters is obsessed with IQ and asks pretty much all the other characters what their IQ is. The main male in the story reports his is 140. So I�m out to prove that at least I�m close to that, because heaven forbid a fictional character is smarter than me!

So I found a pretty reputable one�135. Hey not bad, but now what the hell does that mean? So I go scouring the net for what the levels of IQ are. I fond another test this time, but it took time into consideration. You were given less points if it took you longer than 20 seconds to answer a question. Of course, during that one Rob comes in and bothers me, so I think I could have done better, but I scored a 140. What does that mean?

Well I found this little scale. I was pretty impressed with myself, but slightly miffed because I expect perfection and also, well, let me explain. Here are the levels:

Intelligence Interval Cognitive Designation
40 � 55 Severely challenged (Less than 1% of test takers)
55 � 70 Challenged (2.3% of test takers)
70 � 85 Below average
85 � 115 Average (68% of test takers)
115 � 130 Above average
130 � 145 Gifted (2.3% of test takers)
145 � 160 Genius (Less than 1% of test takers)
160 � 175 Extraordinary genius

So you see, I�m gifted. Not genius, as I always thought (uh, yeah, I wish), but gifted. Now I know I�m just being a brat, but gifted isn�t my ideal description. It sounds like something you�d say to a stupid person to make them feel �special�. Know what I mean?

Oh I know, I�m just being bratty. I want it all.

If you�re interested in taking this IQ test online and even better letting me know what you scored (I love learning about these things), go to IQ Test Website

0 scratches so far

previous - next

Onyx's Profile - Other Diaries - Recommend to Friend - Get your own!
MOST RECENT ENTRIES

Moved - 2005-07-25
New Job - 2005-07-25
Idiots in the News and Mom Update - 2005-07-21
Parents! (sigh) - 2005-07-21
More of the Same - 2005-07-19

All Older Entries